Workshops and Courses

COURSES AND WORKSHOPS

We offer a range of courses and workshops, for students, teachers and for private individuals on many topics in the area of permaculture. Courses can be booked by individuals or groups.

The workshops featured here are a sampling of what is offered. If you have your own idea, or would like to recieve a full listing please contact us for a broschure. 


FOR STUDENTS

Introduction to Permaculture

An introduction to the principles and ideas underlying permaculture, beginning with why it is important for us to look at how we interact with the land we use to produce our food, and leading toward solutions for a more sustainable world.




Environmental Education Project Week


Allow your students to dive more deeply into the diverse topics surrounding permaculture and sustainable systems. Students will recieve an introduction to permaculture. Then they will choose a topic of interest to dive more deeply into. We guide them as they research their topic in small groups, and then present their topic to the class. The week culminates with an excursion to a working permaculture farm!



Excursions

To see a permaculture system live can spark inspiration and interest in your students. This offer includes an introduction to permaculture, then a guided tour of a working permaculture farm. This is an exciting day outing for students of all ages!


FOR TEACHERS

Classroom Gardening

A beginner's course on how to lead your class through a first experience with gardening. We will cover plant propogation, seasonal planting, and permaculture gardening principles, as well as recipes and ideas for how best to make use of your harvest!



Inspirational Environmental Education Projects

A toolkit for inspirational projects in the area of environmental education. Teachers will leave with a selection of biology experiments, materials and resources, as well as a list of external experts and excursion ideas to supplement their student's experiences.



Introduction to Permaculture

An introduction to the principles and ideas underlying permaculture, beginning with why it is important for us to look at how we interact with the land we use to produce our food, and leading toward solutions for a more sustainable world.

Teachers will leave with materials and resources for teaching their students about the concept of permaculture.





WORKSHOPS FOR ADULTS

Kombucha, Kefir, Soda and Syrups

Fermented drinks are a probiotic powerhouse!

In this course, we will taste beverages fermented using different techniques. We will learn some basics about wild fermentation, and how to make these healthy beverages at home. Each participant will leave with their own starter kit to begin making kombucha, natural sodas and water kefir at home.



Upcoming Workshop:

Friday November 12, 2021 (17:00-19:00)




Pickles and Preserves

Not very long ago, families spent their late summer and early autumn preserving homegrown foods for the winter months. The skill of home canning and pickling is now something that is foreign to many people. 

In this workshop, you will learn the basics of how to safely can foods, as well as recipes for seasonal produce. You will have the chance to try your hand at two of these recipes, and take home the fruits of your labor.


Upcoming Workshops:

Wednesday October 10, 2021 (17:00-19:00)




Worm Composting

Let worms eat your kitchen waste!

In this workshop you will learn the basics of worm composting. We will discuss soil health and why it is so important to the health of our food, as well as what we can do to reduce our carbon footprint.

You will learn how to set up and maintain an indoor or outdoor worm composter, including many troubleshooting tips.


Upcoming Workshops:

Saturday October 23, 2021 (10:00-12:00)

Friday November 26, 2021 (17:00-19:00)

Introduction to Permaculture

This 2-day workshop is designed to give a theoretical and practical introduction to permaculture principles and practices. It is held at the Dietlimoos Community Gardens, where permaculture practices have been implemented to re-green an urban area.

Join us to learn about permaculture, gain some hands-on experience, and to tour this great community project!




Upcoming Workshop:

September 24-25, 2021

The Basics of Fermentation

Often if you have your own garden, you are blessed with an overabundance at some point in the season. Learn how to create a healthy fermented product from these vegetables. This is a beginner course, which will cover the basics of vegetable fermentation with demonstrations and recipes for saurkraut, fermented hot sauce and more!



Upcoming Workshops:

Friday October 1, 2021 (17:00-19:00)

Wednesday October 27, 2021 (17:00-19:00)



Baking with Sourdough

Sourdough is the oldest form of leavened bread, dating back to ancient Egypt. It is also a way to bake using the simplest and most healthy ingredients. In this course will cover the basic science of fermentation, learn about wild ferments, and how to bake using wild yeast. You will also go home with your own starter, as well as some tasty baked goods!




Upcoming Workshops:

Saturday October 9, 2021 (16:00-18:00)

Friday October 22, 2021 (17:00-19:00)

Wednesday November 10, 2021 (17:00-19:00)

Workshops und Kursen

KURSEN UND WORKSHOPS

Wir bieten eine Reihe von Kursen und Workshops für Studenten, Lehrer und Privatpersonen zu vielen Themen aus dem Bereich der Permakultur an. Die Kurse können von Einzelpersonen oder Gruppen gebucht werden.

Die hier vorgestellten Workshops sind eine Auswahl des Angebots. Wenn Sie Ihre eigene Idee haben oder eine vollständige Liste erhalten möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte für eine Broschüre. 

FÜR SCHÜLER

Einführung in der Permakultur

Eine Einführung in die Prinzipien und Ideen, die der Permakultur zugrunde liegen. Sie beginnt mit der Frage, warum es für uns wichtig ist, zu untersuchen, wie wir mit dem Land, auf dem wir unsere Lebensmittel produzieren, interagieren, und führt zu Lösungen für eine nachhaltigere Welt.



Projektwoche Umweltbildung

Erlauben Sie Ihren Schülern, tiefer in die vielfältigen Themen rund um Permakultur und nachhaltige Systeme einzutauchen. Die Studenten erhalten eine Einführung in die Permakultur. Dann wählen sie ein interessantes Thema aus, in das sie tiefer eintauchen möchten. Wir begleiten sie bei der Erforschung ihres Themas in Kleingruppen und präsentieren ihr Thema dann in der Klasse. Die Woche kulminiert mit einer Exkursion zu einer aktiven Permakultur-Farm!

Ausflüge

Ein Permakultur-System live zu sehen, kann bei Ihren Schülern Inspiration und Interesse wecken. Dieses Angebot umfasst eine Einführung in die Permakultur und anschließend eine Führung durch eine funktionierende Permakultur-Farm. Dies ist ein spannender Tagesausflug für Schüler aller Altersgruppen!

FÜR LEHRER

Gartenarbeit in der Schule

Ein Einsteigerkurs darüber, wie Sie Ihre Klasse durch eine erste Erfahrung mit der Gartenarbeit führen können. Wir behandeln die Prinzipien der Pflanzenvermehrung, der saisonalen Pflanzung und der Permakultur im Garten sowie Rezepte und Ideen, wie Sie Ihre Ernte am besten nutzen können!

Inspirierende Projekte zur Umweltbildung

Ein Toolkit für inspirierende Projekte im Bereich der Umweltbildung. Die Lehrerinnen und Lehrer gehen mit einer Auswahl an Biologieexperimenten, Materialien und Ressourcen sowie einer Liste externer Experten und Exkursionsideen nach Hause, um die Erfahrungen ihrer Schülerinnen und Schüler zu ergänzen.

Einführung in die Permakultur

Eine Einführung in die Prinzipien und Ideen, die der Permakultur zugrunde liegen. Sie beginnt mit der Frage, warum es für uns wichtig ist, zu untersuchen, wie wir mit dem Land, auf dem wir unsere Lebensmittel produzieren, interagieren, und führt zu Lösungen für eine nachhaltigere Welt.

Die Lehrer werden mit Materialien und Ressourcen zur Unterrichtung ihrer Schüler über das Konzept der Permakultur nach Hause gehen.



WORKSHOPS

Kombucha, Kefir, Soda und Sirup

Fermentierte Getränke sind ein probiotisches Powerhouse!
In diesem Kurs werden wir Getränke probieren, die mit verschiedenen Techniken fermentiert wurden. Wir werden einige Grundlagen über die Gärung lernen und erfahren, wie diese gesunden Getränke zu Hause hergestellt werden können. Sie werden mit Ihrem eigenen Starterkit abreisen, damit sie zu Hause mit der Herstellung Ihrer eigenen fermentierten Getränke beginnen können.


Bevorstehender Workshop:

Freitag 12. November, 2021 





Einlegen und Einmachen

Vor nicht allzu langer Zeit verbrachten Familien den Spätsommer und Frühherbst damit, selbst angebaute Lebensmittel für die Wintermonate zu konservieren. Heute ist die Kunst des Einmachens und Einlegens etwas, das vielen Menschen fremd ist. 
In diesem Workshop lernen Sie die Grundlagen des richtigen Einmachens von Lebensmitteln, sowie Rezepte für saisonale Produkte. Sie werden die Möglichkeit haben, zwei dieser Rezepte selbst auszuprobieren und die Früchte Ihrer Arbeit mit nach Hause zu nehmen.


Bevorstehender Workshops:

Mittwoch 20. Oktober, 2021

Wurmkompostieren

Lassen Sie Würmer Ihre Küchenabfälle fressen!

In diesem Workshop lernen Sie die Grundlagen der Wurmkompostierung kennen. Wir werden über die Gesundheit des Bodens sprechen und warum sie so wichtig für die Gesundheit unserer Lebensmittel ist, sowie darüber, was wir tun können, um unseren Kohlenstoff-Fussabdruck zu reduzieren.

Sie werden lernen, wie Sie einen Wurmkomposter für den Innen- oder Aussenbereich einrichten und pflegen, inklusive vieler Troubleshooting-Tipps.


Bevorstehender Workshops:

Samstag 23. Oktober 

Freitag 26. November 

Einführung in der Permakultur

Dieser 2-tägige Workshop soll eine theoretische und praktische Einführung in die Prinzipien und Praktiken der Permakultur geben. Er findet in den Dietlimoos Gemeinschaftsgärten statt, wo Permakultur-Praktiken implementiert wurden, um ein städtisches Gebiet neu zu begrünen.

Kommen Sie zu uns, um etwas über Permakultur zu lernen, einige praktische Erfahrungen zu sammeln und dieses grossartige Gemeinschaftsprojekt zu besichtigen!



Bevorstehender Workshop:

24.-25. September, 2021

Grundlagen der Gärung

Wenn Sie einen eigenen Garten haben, sind Sie oft zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt der Saison mit einem Überfluss gesegnet. Lernen Sie, wie man aus diesen Gemüsesorten ein gesundes fermentiertes Produkt herstellt. Dies ist ein Anfängerkurs, der die Grundlagen der Gemüsegärung behandelt, mit Vorführungen und Rezepten für Saurkraut, fermentierte scharfe Karotten und mehr!




Bevorstehender Workshops:

Freitag 1. Oktober, 2021 

Mittwoch 27. Oktober, 2021 





Backen mit Sauerteig

Sauerteig ist die älteste Form von Hefebrot, die auf das alte Ägypten zurückgeht. Mit Sauerteig zu backen ist auch eine Möglichkeit, mit den einfachsten und gesündesten Zutaten zu backen. Dieser Kurs behandelt die Grundlagen der Fermentierung, lernt wilde Fermentationen kennen und wie man mit wilder Hefe backt. Sie werden auch Ihre eigene Starterkultur mit nach Hause nehmen!



Bevorstehender Workshops:

Samstag 9. Oktober, 2021 

Freitag 22. Oktober, 2021 

Mittwoch 10. November, 2021